3x GRAMMY® Winning Saxophonist Jeff Coffin Earns GRAMMY® Nomination for latest solo project, Between Dreaming and Joy

Between Dreaming and Joy is nominated for Best Contemporary Instrumental Album at the 65th GRAMMY® Awards

Stream Between Dreaming and Joy on Spotify

“Between Dreaming and Joy is a fascinating listen…it is incredibly upbeat, funky, and makes you want to groove.”
– Rob Shepherd, Post Genre

New York, NY – Between Dreaming and Joy, the latest album from saxophonist, composer and educator Jeff Coffin, has received a GRAMMY® nomination for Best Contemporary Instrumental Album. A current touring member with Dave Matthews Band and 14-year member of the genre-bending Bela Fleck & the Flecktones, Coffin is a distinguished international saxophonist recognized for his breathtaking, enigmatic compositions. Coffin will celebrate his nomination at the 65th annual GRAMMY® Awards on February 5, 2023. 

Between Dreaming and Joy, a stunning display of Coffin’s boundless compositional impulse and eclectic sonic arrest, was released on his own Ear Up Records in August 2022. With over 20 solo releases (and 45+ overall) on Ear Up, Coffin is celebrating his label’s first GRAMMY®-nominated recording, an impressive feat for the seasoned woodwind player.

While anchored in spontaneity, Between Dreaming And Joy captures Coffin’s inclination to transcend genre. The record is sustained by a variety of instrumentation and features 8 bassists, 6 drummers, 5 guitar players, 4 keyboardists, a set of Middle Eastern frame drums, Brazilian percussion, Moroccan vocals, a turntable artist, multiple horns, an ice cream truck, a Hungarian Tarogato and an African Ngoni. 

It also features a robust list of collaborators, including Marcus King, Michael League, Robben Ford, Keith Carlock, Stefan Lessard, Nigel Hall, Kris Myers, DJ Logic, Bob Lanzetti, Jordan Person, Felix Pastorius, Chester Thompson, Buddy Strong, Bernardo Aguiar, Sarah Ariche, Jeff Babko, Mike Baggetta, Jennifer Hartswick, Vicente Archer, Chris Wood, Bill Fanning, Alana Rocklin, Ray Mason, Emmanuel Echem, Chris Walters, Richard Aspinwall, Derico Watson, David Rodgers, Derrek Phillips, Jonathan Wires and Tony Hall.

“I am super excited that this project has been recognized for a GRAMMY nomination,” shares Coffin. “It is my first nomination for a solo project and to have these incredible artists on this record is truly an embarrassment of riches. I am deeply honored and deeply thrilled!

Jeff Coffin is proud to be nominated alongside Brad Mehldau, DOMi & JD BECK, Snarky Puppy and Grant Geissman in the category. ##

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *