by Kevin Johnson, No Treble

Brandi Disterheft has returned with her fourth album as a leader, entitled Blue Canvas. With veteran pianist Harold Mabern and drummer Joe Farnsworth in tow, the jazz bassist/vocalist goes deep on a mix of classic and original tunes.

“Aside from an array of classic standards from Clifford Brown, Bobby Timmons, and Tadd Dameron, I chose four out of thirty songs I had written in the past three months including a waltz for the cello (‘When the Mood is Right’) and the daringly epic suite/story of ‘The Crippling Thrill,’” she writes.

The album has a heavy swing to it reminiscent of the Oscar Peterson and Ray Brown trios, and Disterheft’s rich bass lines and solos are equally matched by her smoky vocals.

Blue Canvas is available on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Blue Canvas Track List:

  1. Dis Here
  2. Prelude To The Crippling Thrill
  3. Crippling Thrill
  4. Beehive
  5. Daahoud
  6. Blue Canvas
  7. George’s Dilemma
  8. When The Mood Is Right
  9. Our Delight
  10. Willow Weep For Me

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *