Alex Anderson is proud to present Unidentified Fusion Orangement ‘Space Bop’ Live Recording on Friday, April 29 at 9:30 PM at the Lilypad, located in Inman Square, Cambridge MA, at 1353 Cambridge Street. More information can be found at


When the be-bop all-stars step onto the free jazz space ship and travel the galaxy exploring time, space, rhythm, harmony, and tonality in a way foreign but familiar to the Earthlings, SPACE BOP is born! "Space Bop" is the latest album by Unidentified Fusion Orangement (UFO) composed by the musical director Alexander Anderson. The band features the rising stars of the jazz scene, taking on a psychedelic, avant-garde, abstract approach to the harmonic, melodic, rhythmic sophistication of bebop. The music of "Space Bop" draws heavily from the legacy of Ornette Coleman, Miles Davis, Charlie Parker; and the arranging techniques of Weather Report, Gil Evans & Sun Ra. The performance, which will be presented in two sets (10:00 and 11:30), will be audio and video recorded.


UFO was originally founded in 2012 in San Diego by pianist and composer Alexander Anderson. The original iteration of the collective featured musicians from the San Diego area and began making a name for itself with frequent performances in the Gaslamp Quarter, known as the San Diego entertainment district.


Upon a relocation to Boston to study at Berklee College of Music in 2013, Anderson reformed UFO to the iteration it is today. In 2014, UFO’s debut “Abducted” was released and steadily gained a dedicated following for the group, specifically in the underground Boston scene. In 2015, Anderson led UFO on a cultural outreach program in Japan, where they performed across the country in Kyoto, Kobe, Osaka, Tokyo and Nagoya.


UFO features:


Alexander Anderson - Musical Director/Piano/Synthesizers

Cosimo Boni - Trumpet

Connor Steck - Soprano Saxophone/EWI

David Milazzo - Alto Saxophone

Ryan Linvill - Tenor Saxophone

Max Acree - Trombone

Andrew Marzotto - Electric Guitar

Max Gerl - Electric Bass

Will Lyle - Upright Bass

Patrick Simard - Drums/Percussion

Ayinde Webb - Drums