By Jim Hynes, Glide Magazine

Prolific bassist and composer Michael Feinberg issues his eighth album as a leader with Hard Times, a layered and eclectic response to the pandemic, rendered by an impressive cast of collaborators. Feinberg features Leo Genovese on keyboards and synths, Billy Buss on trumpet, Godwin Louis on alto, Noah Preminger on tenor, Gabriel Globus-Hoenig on percussion, Orrin Evans on piano, Jeff ‘Tain’ Watts on drums, and special guest trumpeter Randy Brecker on “Monkeys Never Cramp.” The album is mostly originals excepting the title track, two from McCoy Tyer, and one from Miles Davis. Read more here.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *