Dot Time Records to Release Limited Edition Vinyl LP Edition of LENNIE TRISTANO: THE DUOS SESSIONS on June 11, 2021


Dot Time Records is pleased to announce the release of Lennie Tristano: The Duos Sessions, a special edition vinyl LP due out on June 11, 2021. This stunning compendium of never-before-heard duo recordings from the latter years of piano legend Lennie Tristano’s illustrious career was first released digitally and as a compact disc last Spring. Only 500 hand-numbered units will be available. 

One of the most original voices in jazz, Tristano paved the way for modern generations with his groundbreaking innovation and dedication to teaching.  Recordings of Lennie Tristano have served as essential listening for jazz fans and musicians alike since his recording debut as a bandleader in 1949.  Pianist and teacher Lennie Tristano shaped the future of music to come, developing his singular voice on his instrument by incorporating ideas of freedom and abstraction into his performance.  This groundbreaking, unique sound forever changed the common musical vernacular of the jazz musician.

Lennie Tristano’s daughter Carol Tristano exclaims “I am very happy to be working with Dot Time Records for the inclusion of Lennie Tristano in their “Legends Series”.  Lennie’s musical legacy is one of beauty and innovation.
  Combining our resources, we have a treasure trove of previously unreleased music to present to you.”  The recordings that make up Lennie Tristano: Duos coincide or are predated by Tristano’s last public appearance in the United States in 1968.

The album features Tristano in a duo context with three of his musical associates.  A 1976 recording of Tristano performing duo with pianist Connie Crothers is the only 2-piano free improvisation ever recorded by Tristano.  The album also features a 1970 duo recording of Tristano with tenor saxophonist Lenny Popkin and a 1967/1968 recording of Tristano with drummer Roger Mancuso.  Both Popkin and Mancuso were long-time collaborators of Tristano’s, both having had performed in the pianist’s last public appearance prior to these recording sessions.  These previously unreleased hallmark recordings document the artist’s stellar creative output in his latter days.



Side A

  1. Out Of A Dream  6.19
  2. Ballad        6.52
  3. Melancholy Stomp 6.06

Total 19:17

Side B

  1. Concerto Part 2     3.17
  2. Imagery    4.11
  3. That Feeling    3.07
  4. Changes    3.13
  5. Minor Pennies    3.10
  6. Home Again    3.24

Total 20:22




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *