By Doug Collete, All About Jazz

Throughout most of his debut album for the Ropeadope label, pianist/composer Chris McCarthy leads a five-piece ensemble that moves nimbly, wholly as one on tracks like “That’s All You Got.” But each member of the unit also reflects attributes that he shares with his comrades, so, as on that jaunty opener, both members of the rhythm section—bassist Sam Minaie and drummer Jk kim — mirror the unpredictable bounces of the leader’s playing, And that action, in turn, likewise spurs on and reverberates through the playing of trumpeter Takuya Kuroda and saxophonist Michael Blake. Read the full review here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *