Sébastien Hélary, Nextbop

Composer and saxophonist Sharel Cassity released her fourth album as a leader last week on Relsha Music. Evolve sees the introduction of Cassity’s new band Elektra comprised of trumpeters Ingrid Jensen, Marcus Printup and Freddie Hendrix, bassist Linda Oh, guitarist Mark Whitfield, pianists Miki Hayama and Richard Johnson, vocalist Christie Dashiell, drummers Jonathan Barber and Lucianna Padmore and harpist Riza Printup. “Armed with information from our elders, paired with our own creativity, musicians have a responsibility to create music that reflects and reaches listeners in the current world we live in,” says Cassity, adding, “I want to put out music that encourages the world to fight against that; to encourage people to dream for better, because there is always better.” This is the energy and the hopefulness that emanates from Cassity’s newest single, “Be The Change”, a soothing and uplifting effort sure to brighten up the gloomiest of days. We are proud to premiere the track below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *